Reiki Levels: Mastering Energy Healing

The 3 Reiki levels are a training hierarchy to the form of energy healing.
It has been gaining popularity worldwide due to its profound impact on physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

This article delves into the different levels of Reiki, providing a comprehensive understanding of what each level entails and how they contribute to becoming a proficient Reiki practitioner or master.

If you want to learn Reiki, you should read this blog post.

The 3 Reiki Levels

We always talk about the 3 Reiki levels, as the 4th is only for those who want to teach.
The Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation also promotes healing.

It is based on the idea that an unseen “life force energy” flows through us, and when one’s life force energy is low, we are more likely to get sick or feel stressed.

If it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy.

The 3 Reiki Levels
The 3 Reiki Levels

Reiki training is typically divided into three levels, sometimes four, each focusing on different aspects of practice and knowledge.

The 3 Reiki levels are:

  1. Reiki Level 1: The First Degree (Shoden)
  2. Reiki Level 2: The Second Degree (Okuden)
  3. Reiki Level 3: The Third Degree (Shinpiden) or Reiki Master
  4. Reiki Master Teacher (optional in some traditions)

Reiki Level 1: The First Degree (Shoden)

Reiki Level 1 - Shoden
Reiki Level 1 – Shoden

The first degree of Reiki, also known as Shoden, serves as an introduction to Reiki energy.
This level focuses on self-healing and includes an ‘attunement’ process performed by a Reiki Master.

The attunement aligns the student with the Reiki energy, enabling them to channel it for self-healing and to others in their immediate vicinity.

Students are introduced to the Reiki Precepts and are encouraged to live by them.
They are also introduced to the energy centers of the body, called Chakras, and their significance in the healing process.

Reiki Level 2: The Second Degree (Okuden)

Reiki Level 2 - Okuden
Reiki Level 2 – Okuden

The second degree, or Okuden, is considered the Practitioner level.
This level deepens the understanding of Reiki and introduces the use of Reiki symbols to enhance the focus and intention of the healing energy.

It also includes training in distance healing, allowing the practitioner to send healing energy across physical distances.
This level is often associated with professional practice, and practitioners at this level can start their own Reiki practice.

Reiki Level 3: The Third Degree (Shinpiden) or Reiki Master

The third degree, Shinpiden, or the Master level, is a significant step in a Reiki practitioner’s journey.
This level involves a powerful and beautiful attunement that raises the practitioner’s energy vibration to an even higher level.

It includes learning the Master symbols and how to use them in the attunement process of others.
This level deepens the understanding of the Reiki energy and promotes the development of intuition and conscious intention in healing work.

Reiki Master Teacher
Reiki Master Teacher

Reiki Master Teacher

The Reiki Master Teacher level is for those who wish to teach Reiki to others.
It involves learning how to perform attunements for others and how to guide students through their Reiki journey.

This level requires a deep commitment to the Reiki practice and a desire to share this healing technique with others.

I invite you to read this article: How Many Reiki Sessions Are Needed?

Reiki Level 3 -Shinpiden or Reiki Master
Reiki Level 3 – Shinpiden or Reiki Master

The journey through the Reiki levels is a transformative process that enhances one’s ability to channel healing energy for the benefit of oneself and others. It is a journey of personal growth, self-discovery, and deepening spiritual connection.

Whether you aspire to become a Reiki practitioner or master, or simply wish to incorporate Reiki into your wellness practice, understanding the Reiki levels is a crucial step in your journey.

If you liked this article, you are going to love our article on Reiki Palm Healing!

Lost Yogi